The transfer of any firearm—other than rifles or shotguns—in North Carolina requires a permit. Carrying a concealed weapon, whether on one’s person or in a vehicle, also requires a permit. North Carolina gun trust attorneys at Southern Gun Law Group have created a simple chart that breaks down requirements of the different types of North Carolina gun permits individuals may apply for:
- Handgun Purchase Permit
Applicants must be a US citizen, a North Carolina resident, and must apply in the county in which they reside. The applicant must have lived in the county for at least 30 days. All applicants must be 21 or older and pass a criminal background check. Check with the application requirements in your county of residence: Some NC counties require in-person applications; others have mandatory online-only applications, while others offer the option of either, or even mail-in applications. The cost is $5.00.
- Concealed Handgun Permit
All of the above requirements must be met in addition to a mental and physical health check. Applicants also must pass a firearms training and safety class. According to the North Carolina Rifle & Pistol Association, as of March 2012, NC’s reciprocal laws recognize concealed carry handgun permits issued by other states. Download a North Carolina Application for a Concealed Handgun Permit.
Every time a transfer of a handgun takes place, the buyer (recipient) must hold a valid permit and the seller (giver) is required to hold a copy of the permit indefinitely. Under North Carolina gun laws, this applies to every transfer of pistols, whether or not the weapon was transferred from a private party or between relatives. Owners of firearms who wish to leave their firearms collections to their loved ones in a will are taking a risk that could leave their heirs charged with criminal offenses. A North Carolina gun trust can help protect heirs by legally transferring firearms when the trust settlor passes, both for pistols and NFA items such a suppressors. Curious about the conditions where can you carry a gun in North Carolina without a permit?
- Communities in rural North Carolina that allow open carry.
- Private property – as long as the property owner grants permission.